Strings Attached – Sri Vani Vidya Kendra – April 12, 2016

Been very long since I penned down my report of any concert as I haven’t been attending many concerts but I can’t afford to miss Sree Rama Navami concerts in Bengaluru!

Strings Attached concert by Sri Kumaresh (Violin) and Dr. Jayanthi Kumaresh (Veena) at Sri Vani Vidya Kendra, Basaveshwaranagar, as part of Sree Rama Navami celebrations was an amazing one. I enjoyed this thoroughly even though I didn’t know 75% of the compositions that were presented! They were accompanied by Vid. Shankaranarayanan on Mridangam and Vid Giridhar Udupa on Ghatam.

  1. Kalyani Adi Tala varnam (Vanajakshi)
  2. Gowla
  3. Kanada
  4. Hindolam (?)
  5. Nattakurinji RTP
  6. Sindhu Bhairavi
  7. Harivarasanam (Bhajan)
  8. Madhyamavathi

The concert started with the grand Kalyani varnam, which was played in only one speed as they started at a very higher speed. A brief introduction of Gowla ragam followed by a composition that I don’t know set the tone for the rest of the concert. Scintillating swara prasthara. Enough said!

Kanada aalapana was very elaborate on both Violin and Veena and their sheer brilliance on swaras was quite evident in the end. Hindolam composition was a filler between the sub-main and main pieces of concert. Nattakurinji Ragam-Tanam-Pallavi was very grand with long aalapana and great Tanam (especially from Dr. Jayanthi, equally responded well by Vid. Kumaresh) with a very attractive pallavi in Adi Talam. Swara prasthara was mesmerizing and the Tani Avarthanam was good, albeit a bit louder.

Some chief guest presided over the gathering for the evening, which was quite looonnng. He actually said Veena is the queen of instruments and Violin, the King. That is fine, but many didn’t appreciate when he said something on the lines that instrumental music is next to vocal music. Everyone was waiting for him to finish as they finished concert with last few short pieces. Sindhu Bhairavi is the trademark of Dr. Jayanthi, the Bhajan that followed was very soothing to the ears and the mandatory Mangalam came in the form of Madhyamavathi.

Overall, an amazing concert indeed! One of those very few concerts that I happened to enjoy a lot, despite not knowing what compositions are being played. I was very happy though, that I could identify all ragas and I hope I was correct! 😉

PS: Who said instrumental music is next to Vocal? In my view, it’s the most divine form of music and I am sure many will agree with me.

Leave a Reply

